Vari-Lite Controls Support Forum

Cameo FlatPro 7 control failing (randomly?)

Kauz

Several meters behind the DMX output of our new FLX S48 I have 10 Cameo FlatPro 7 in the DMX chain. Sometimes I can't control them any more untill I reboot the FLS S48. All DMX nodes behind the Cameo's are still responsive in these cases. Therefore this does rather not look like a physical issue to me. A termination resistor is in place. With a previous (Strand) lighting console we did not experience this problem.

The Cameos are patched as RGBWA LED devices. Most of the remaining fixtures are dimmers.

Any ideas what could be wrong? I am new to FLX S, i. e. I might be doing something wrong with console operation. However, why is the problem limited to the Cameos? Is it possible that the FLX-S's DMX signal timing is a bit challenging for them?

I confess I've never had this issue with a desk although I have had less than perfect control due to issues with fixtures, dmx splitters, termination and the fixtures themselves. However your logic (that the fixtures don't cope with the signal they are getting) does have merit.

I expect someone from Z88 will be along in a bit but, in the meantime, perhaps I could refer you to this bit of the manual which says...

"You can also change the Transmission between Continuous or Delta. Continuous transmission will result in DMX data being sent at a steady refresh rate, and is the default option. FLX consoles transmit at 33Hz, and FLX S consoles transmit at 29Hz.

Changing the Transmission to Delta, will result in the console sending DMX "updates". This means DMX frames will be sent whenever there are level changes on the console. If you are controlling a fixture that doesn't seem to be responding correctly, change the Transmission to see if the fixture prefers the change in frame rate. If it does, your fixture is not truly DMX."